Acustic Feedback

Viggen
Product: R3
S/N: 75

Acustic Feedback

Post by Viggen »

Hi everyone!

I used to work as an instructor on a JAS-39 Gripen simulator. The Gripen fighter has a much smaller centre mounted stick with the pivot sitting almost inside your grip, which makes the pilot fly alot with the wrist (it's very nice). The stick is force sensing but with a couple of centimetres displacement at the top. To further enhance the pilots awareness of remaining performance (basically, how much more is left to pull on the stick before you are at full aft position and the FBW-system is giving you maximum available performance) there is a sound that starts when pulling the stick roughly 80% backwards, and then another similar but faster sound when pulling almost maximum. This is NOT connected to amount of Gs or AoA, it is only a feedback telling you how much more you can pull on the stick.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=B3giMFtbZbg
In this video at time 02:00 you can hear the sound that starts at roughly 80% back pressure on the stick. It sounds like "dooot dooot dooot dooot...", if the pilot would have pulled even more it would have sounded more like "dot dot dot dot dot...." :)

I would very much like to have that feature in the FSSB. It could be implemented in the FSSB software or run in the background on the computer as a separate program. This way you would always now how much you are pulling and how much is left and also not risk to brake the force sensing module by pulling to hard. I imagine that could be a possible risk if mounted on a desk or in a cockpit and getting a bit over excited ;)

I would be happy to assist further if you would decide to implement this.

Best regards,
Alex
Dragon
Product: ---
S/N: 0

Re: Acustic Feedback

Post by Dragon »

Hi Viggen.

Great have you in the family ;)

Great suggestion also. Will be included in the next firmware release, for the MJF firmware series. I hope before Xmas