Reduce sensitivity around zero input

Mick
Product: R3
S/N: 157

Reduce sensitivity around zero input

Post by Mick »

Hi

I am new to the R3 and really only fly Formation Aerobatics for fun in DCS, and no combat, I love the precision R3 gives for this, especially the absence of the unatural 'spring induced' centering other sticks have!

However I do find it extremely difficult to have zero input in the neutral zone while just holding the stick.

It's not too bad when forces are set high, 11 12 or 13lb but even then just holding steady creates unwanted inputs and I like to keep forces fairly low, so that there is quick response and fast roll rate for manouvres, (and I don't really want to be pulling loops against 13lbs)

The current solution to this is to either use curves or a deadzone (in DCS axis tune) to flatten out the centre responses.
I really don't like using a curve as it creates steeper responses either side, linear response is naturally even, and for me I feel crossing even a small deadzone would remove the 100% precision this stick has throughtout it's entire range.

So my suggestion for firmware solution is this.... I have read that on some new sidesticks developed for use in commercial aviation by BAE they have programmed 'breakout forces' required to move the sidestick from its null position.
These breakout forces are so the pilot has to pull, say, half a pound or so before it creates meaningful responses, to prevent inadvertent inputs and provide an obvious centering feel.

If possible, perhaps 'adjustable breakout forces' might be more useful so as to set sensitivity around the null zone according to preference....?

I feel this might be the solution for precision flying by both wingmen and lead airplanes in formation areobatics.

I know this may be a request for only a minority of pilots but maybe others might find this useful perhaps?

Mick
Dragon
Product: ---
S/N: 0

Re: Reduce sensitivity around zero input

Post by Dragon »

HI Mike.